Discover the rich history of our village
Welcome to the community website for the village of Nimmitabel.
Nimmitabel is a charming historic village located in the Monaro region in southeast New South Wales, Australia, which is steeped in farming history. For over a century it has been one of the premium wool growing areas in NSW. At the 2016 Census, Nimmitabel had a population of 320.
The name Nimmitabel is based on an Aboriginal word meaning the ‘dividing of the waters’. It marks the place where southern waters flow into the Snowy River and the northern waters flow into the Murrumbidgee River. As with many other Aboriginal place names in Australia, the Europeans struggled with both the pronunciation and the spelling.
In the past Nimmitabel has been rendered as Nimmytabell (1837), Nimmitabool (1841), Nimmittybel (1844), Nimitybelle, Nimity Bell, Nimithybale and Nymytable (all in 1848), Nimmittabil (1851), Nimitabille and Nimithy Bell (1856), and Nimaty-Bell. The last form was submitted with a plan for the township in 1857, but it was changed to Nimmitabel in 1858 and that form has since been customarily used apart from the ose of Nimmitybelle briefly in 1862.
Nimmitabel is on the southern end of the Great Dividing Range, to the west of the Monaro Range, and lies 20 kilometres (12 miles) west of the Wadbilliga National Park. The area around Nimmitabel has the only true chernozem soil in Australia, a very rich, fertile and dark coloured soil.
Discover more about Nimmitabel
Police Station & Lock Up
Nimmitabel Police Station and Lock Up – Built in 1862 the police station consists of offices, a residence, a court house, two stone cells and a three horse stables.
Geldmacher House Circa 1863
Originally a general store, it was purchased by John Geldmacher in 1902. The remaining part of the general provision store and residence is now the Nimmitabel Heritage Museum Centre.
Lake Williams – Opened by Peter Cochran MP Member for Monaro on Australia Day 26th January 1994. This Lake and Park has been created by the New South Wales Department of Public Works, Cooma-Monaro Shire Council and the Lions Club of Nimmitabel for the benefit of the Nimmitabel Community. The name commemorates the contribution to many district organisations by members of the pioneer Williams family, descendants of John and Sarah Williams, who settled on this land in 1839.
Old Mill Circa 1872
The Old Mill was built by John Geldmacher and designed to be wind driven. One of two mills of its kind left in Eastern Australia.
The well is situated near the intersection of the highway and Bentley Street is the old town well. It was constructed of local basalt around 1900 and covered by timber planks. A windlass and bucket were used to raise the water. The well was used by townsfolk during times of drought.